Monday: Meet the Candidates Event

At a meeting of the Netzigim of Crown Heights held Wednesday night, representatives of Crown Heights Shuls planned the “Meet the Candidates” forum that will take place Monday night.

At a meeting of the Netzigim of Crown Heights held Wednesday night, the representatives of Crown Heights Shuls met to plan the “Meet the Candidates” forum that will take place Monday night, May 20, 8pm at Lubavitcher Yeshivah (New Side Hall), and to discuss the details of the upcoming election for Directors of CHJCC and Vaad Hakohol to be held on Sunday June 2.

The forum will be chaired by Chaim Perl. The order of the candidates will be chosen by lottery. Each candidate will be given 5 minutes to speak. Then the moderator will present questions from the audience. The entire event will be live-streamed.

For the election, on Sunday June 2, the polls will be open from 9am to 9pm in a central location in Crown Heights.

In accordance with the Bylaws of the Council, the constituents of the member shuls of Crown Heights in accordance with Jewish Law are eligible to vote if they are Jewish male resident of Crown Heights who is either married, previously married, or is at least 30 years old.

In recognition of the expanded boundaries of Crown Heights any member of a member shul will be able to vote if they reside within the following boundaries: Washington Ave to Rockaway Ave, and Snyder Ave to Atlantic Ave.

Voters will be required to present State ID such as a passport, Driver’s License, etc. If the State ID does not have their current address listed, then they would need to provide proof of address like a utility bill. Each eligible voter will sign the pre-printed list and will be provided with a ballot to fill out with full confidentiality and place in a locked ballot box.

The votes will be counted immediately after the polls close and the results will be publicized that night.

Each voter will be able to vote for a minimum of 5 and a maximum of 7 candidates. The election will be elected for a 3 year term.

The Netzigim also voted on an Executive Committee to coordinate the future direction of the Netzigim, comprising Meir Kahanov, Moshe Berghoff, Binyomin Dubroff, Avi Lesches, and Mendel Wilhelm.

The meeting was chaired by Avi Lesches from Anshei Lubavitch and began with a Dvar Torah that was presented by Mendel Wilhelm from Menachem’s Shul, who shared with the group a Sicha from the Rebbe of Parshas Mishpatim 5747 on the importance of supporting and respecting the Rabbonim of Crown Heights.

In attendance were:

Zalman Karp (Agudah Shul) Simcha Edelson (Frankel Shul) Shmully Bershovitzky (Beis Gimpel)

Zalman Friedman (The Beshet) Nosson Kuperman (94 Shul) Mendel Wilhelm (Menachem’s Shul)

Naftali Berkowitz (Beis Binyomin) Yossi Shain (Torah U’tefilah) Lazer Avtzon (Merkaz Seard)- Observer)

Binyomin Dubroff (Beis Shmuel) Moshe Berghoff (Mishkan Menachem) Mendy Simon (Empire Shtiebel)

Dovid Zulauf (Chovevi Torah) Eli Felberman (Dovid Gershon) Alexander Weisz (Hadar Torah)

Moshe Katzman (Rayim Ahuvim) Moshe Kaminetzky (Ohel Nosson) Tzali Lesches (Chovevi Torah)

Meir Kahanov (Sterling St. Shul) Ari Simpson (Adas Israel-Lefferts) Shimon Chanin (99 Shul)

Shneor Negin (Anshei Moshe) Yaacov Rogalsky (Anshei Rubushov) Avi Lesches (Anshei Lubavitch)

In keeping in line with the Rabbonim's policies for websites, we do not allow comments. However, our Rabbonim have approved of including input on articles of substance (Torah, history, memories etc.)

We appreciate your feedback. If you have any additional information to contribute to this article, it will be added below.

  1. I am trying to understand, if there will be 3 people elected, why should someone be able to vote for 5 people?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

advertise package